Our Team


Dr Francis Norman

General Manager and Director

Dr Francis Norman is a highly experienced strategic leader. His role of General Manager and Director, leading the Centre of Decommissioning Australia (CODA), is informed by over 40 years of experience in resource project engineering and business leadership.

A former WA division president for Engineers Australia, Francis holds a MSc in project management and a PhD in management.

Dr Francis Norman is also a member of the CODA board.

Samantha Jarvis

NDRI Program Director

As NDRI Program Director, Sam is focussed on supporting the National Decommissioning Research Initiative (NDRI) to develop a better understanding of the impacts of decommissioning oil and gas structures on the Australian marine environment.

Sam brings extensive experience working with operators and the research community across collaborative projects, and also draws from her own significant experience working on environmental impact with Chevron, Santos, Woodside and Alcoa.

Board Members

Dr Ross Waring


Ross is a highly qualified Mechanical Engineer with over 25 years’ experience in development of companies in the power generation, O&G, petrochemical and renewable energy sectors, serving in the roles of Director, CEO and Chair.

He is the founding Chair of Subsea Innovation Cluster Australia Ltd, (SICA) that stimulates collaboration and engagement between Operating and Service companies, Research institutions and Government, to enhance Australia’s capabilities in subsea Inspection, Maintenance & Repair.

He is also an Industry Advisor to Yokogawa Australia focusing on decarbonization and renewable energy following on from his 11 years as Director of KBC Advanced Technologies, in oil and gas process simulation.

Pia Turcinov LLB. BA. GAICD

Non-Executive Director

Pia is a professional non-executive director with 30 years’ commercial and corporate experience across multiple industries including technology, energy, resources, consumer goods and professional services. With qualifications in law, business and governance, Pia is a seasoned advisor to innovators, managers, corporations and policymakers on leveraging economic and supply chain development, alliancing, innovation and the digital economy.

Having served as a director of National Energy Resources Australia for six years, Pia currently maintains a diverse portfolio over varying entities and industries, including WA AustCyber Innovation Hub (Chair), Edith Cowan University, WA Land Information Authority, EMHS and several start-up technology companies. Pia is the immediate past Chair of Women in Technology WA and an active STEM and diversity advocate.

Supervisory Committee

CODA has appointed six industry leaders to form the inaugural Supervisory Committee to bring increased strategic focus and expertise to the efforts to address the challenges and opportunities of decommissioning Australia’s aging oil and gas infrastructure.

The support and input from the Supervisory Committee will help accelerate CODA’s ability to work across the whole of Australian industry to build its domestic capability to address our own decommissioning needs, as well as position Australia to become a significant partner in the region’s decommissioning work.

The Supervisory Committee is comprised of:

  • Richard Perry — Decommissioning Manager, ExxonMobil Australia
  • David Banks — Chief Technical & Marketing Officer, Santos Ltd
  • Jay Southwell — APAC Subsea Services leader, Baker Hughes
  • Brian Matthews — Marine, Subsea & Automation Manager, IAS Group
  • Ineke Reyboz — Contracts and Commercial Consultant (independent member)
  • Harvey Johnstone — Environment Director, International Association of Oil & Gas Producers (independent member)